Dubai
Compass.
Estimate my budget
Company setup

Setting up a company in the UAE: licences compared

19 free zone and mainland offers across the seven emirates, with their published price, what it includes, what to get quoted separately and the official source of every figure.

All 19 offers at a glance

Published prices checked on official websites on 12 October 2026. A licence price is not a budget: visa, establishment card, medical tests, Emirates ID and renewal are often extra.

OfferEmirateSetupPublished priceType
Meydan Free ZoneDubaiFree zone12,500 AEDFrom
IFZADubaiFree zoneOn quoteFrom
DMCC · Basic BizDubaiFree zone35,484 AEDPackage
DMCC · Jump StartDubaiFree zone43,780 AEDPackage
Dubai Mainland · DETDubaiMainlandOn quoteFrom
KEZAD — Start-up 1 visa provisionAbu DhabiFree zone9,450 AEDPackage
Shams — MediaSharjahFree zone5,760 AEDFrom
SPC Free Zone — E-commerce / PublishingSharjahFree zone5,750 AEDFrom
SPC Free Zone — Licence + investor visaSharjahFree zone14,290 AEDPackage
RAKEZ · All-inclusiveRas Al KhaimahFree zone14,000 AEDPackage
RAKEZ · Biz StarterRas Al KhaimahFree zone6,000 AEDPackage
Ajman Media City · Business ClubAjmanFree zone4,999 AEDPackage
Ajman Media City · VisionaryAjmanFree zone12,999 AEDPackage
Ajman Free Zone · personalised quoteAjmanFree zoneOn quoteFrom
UAQ Free Trade Zone · STARTUmm Al QuwainFree zone12,500 AEDPackage
UAQ Free Trade Zone · LYTEUmm Al QuwainFree zone5,500 AEDFrom
Creative City Fujairah · MediaFujairahFree zone3,999 AEDPackage
Creative City Fujairah · EliteFujairahFree zone9,999 AEDPackage
Creative City Fujairah · Elite+FujairahFree zone18,500 AEDPackage

Setup steps

  1. Validate the activity and formation framework

    Define the actual activity, market and premises. Ask for permitted activity codes, legal structure and visa quota. In Dubai, a free-zone company operating on the mainland may need a DET licence or permit. In another emirate, check approvals with the relevant economic authority.

    Invest in Dubai ↗
  2. Obtain an itemised quote, then the licence

    Compare inclusions, initial cost, renewal fees and conditions. Prepare the requested incorporation documents. The licence and visa are separate applications.

    IFZA · processus de création ↗
  3. Prepare the sponsor and residency documents

    Validate founder, partner or employee category, establishment card and required documents. Passport, photo and supporting evidence vary by application. Confirm separate sponsorship for family members.

    Gouvernement UAE ↗
  4. Entry permit or status change

    The sponsor or their service confirms the procedure based on your UAE presence and current status. Ask for itemised fees and any required travel.

    DMCC · parcours résidence salarié ↗
  5. Medical test and Emirates ID

    Residency medical tests apply to applicants aged 18 and over. Start the Emirates ID application and required biometrics. Emirates ID services and fees are separate from the medical test alone.

    Gouvernement UAE ↗
  6. Arrange health insurance

    Validate insurance for the residency emirate, visa and people to cover. In Dubai, consult DHA / ISAHD; in Abu Dhabi, DoH. In the five other emirates, the MoHRE scheme covers private-sector employees and domestic workers; founders and dependents must confirm their situation. Check compliance, network and benefits before taking out a policy.

    Gouvernement UAE · assurance santé ↗
  7. Finalise residency and track expiry dates

    Check residency approval and Emirates ID delivery. Record licence, insurance and visa expiry dates. Banking, accounting and tax obligations are prepared separately.

    Gouvernement UAE ↗

Dubai

Dubai · Free zone

Meydan Free Zone

12,500 AED Licence from

Standard licence · visa charged separately

Standard licence, up to 3 activity groups and a flexi-desk. Starting price; confirm for your project.

  • Licence and flexi-desk
  • Up to 3 activity groups
  • Optional residency services
Visa
Quote visa allocation and issuance separately. A quota is different from an included visa.
Renewal
Ask for the annual licence renewal and flexi-desk price.
Taxes
Confirm VAT and extra fees in writing.
Watch out
Establishment card, visa, medical test and Emirates ID: ask for an itemised breakdown.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Which activity code precisely matches my business?
  • What is the total cost for the requested number of visas, establishment card and tests?
  • Are renewal, VAT and cancellation fees listed?

Meydan · licence and calculator ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Dubai Silicon Oasis · Free zone

IFZA

Personalised quote

Based on activity, visas and workspace

Professional or commercial licence. Proposal tailored to activities, visa package and office requirements.

  • Professional and commercial licences
  • Remote formation offered
  • Assistance through professional partners
Visa
Define the visa package in the proposal. No visa or quota is assumed to be included.
Renewal
Request the renewal price and inclusions.
Taxes
Confirm VAT, public charges and professional fees.
Watch out
Compare the partner quote and authority fees separately.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Is the partner recognised, and what does their service cover?
  • Which charges are IFZA fees, and which are professional fees?
  • What visa capacity and workspace are included?

IFZA · formation and proposal ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Jumeirah Lakes Towers · Free zone

DMCC · Basic Biz

35,484 AED Company formation package

Published package price · advance payment

Licence and flexi-desk solution. For individual shareholders; branches and subsidiaries excluded.

  • DMCC licence and flexi-desk
  • Workspace eligible for 1 visa
  • For individual shareholders
Visa
The workspace is eligible for 1 visa. Basic Biz does not advertise visa issuance as included.
Renewal
Request the full renewal cost for licence, workspace and establishment card.
Taxes
Confirm taxes, fees and package conditions in the quote.
Watch out
Visa eligibility does not mean the issuance cost has been paid.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Is my activity eligible for Basic Biz?
  • Does a quota of 1 visa meet my needs?
  • What is the full budget including residency and renewal?

DMCC · packages and fee schedule ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Jumeirah Lakes Towers · Free zone

DMCC · Jump Start

43,780 AED Package advertising 1 included visa

Standard flexi-desk option · advance payment

Licence, standard flexi-desk eligible for 3 visas, and 1 residency visa advertised as included in the package price.

  • Licence and standard flexi-desk
  • 1 residency visa advertised as included
  • Workspace eligible for 3 visas
Visa
1 visa advertised as included; 2 further allocations may be available depending on workspace, at extra cost. Confirm medical, Emirates ID and surcharges.
Renewal
Request a quote for renewal and additional visas.
Taxes
Confirm the total payable and package conditions.
Watch out
Medical tests, Emirates ID and additional visas still require confirmation.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Which components of the first visa are actually covered?
  • What extra fees remain for medical, Emirates ID and status change?
  • What is the renewal price?

DMCC · Jump Start · Official source ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Dubai · Mainland

Dubai Mainland · DET

Estimate based on activity

Licence, structure and location to be defined

Formation under a Department of Economy and Tourism licence. Activity, legal structure, premises and approvals determine the cost.

  • Assess local-market operations
  • Applications through Invest in Dubai
  • Structure and premises depend on the licence
Visa
Confirm category, establishment card and visa capacity.
Renewal
Quote licence, premises and renewal fees separately.
Taxes
A single licence fee is not a complete company formation budget.
Watch out
Validate premises and approvals specific to your activity.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Which legal structure and licence allow my activity?
  • Are premises, Ejari or external approvals required?
  • What is the total budget including immigration and renewal?

Invest in Dubai · Mainland ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi · Free zone

KEZAD — Start-up 1 visa provision

9,450 AED Published package

9,450 AED for 1 year, including VAT. Published alternatives: 17,800 AED / 2 years; 22,575 AED / 3 years.

Free-zone company licence; shared workspace or office depending on the package.

  • Free-zone licence
  • Shared desk or office options
  • No security deposit on start-up packages
Visa
Package called “1 Visa” under “VISA PROVISIONS”. Visa issuance, medical, Emirates ID and immigration fees are not itemised: do not assume these fees are included without a quote.
Renewal
Annual renewal fee not itemised; the 2- and 3-year packages are initial multiyear contracts.
Taxes
VAT included in the published price.
Watch out
Activity and application approval required. Residency and a bank account are not guaranteed. The price alone does not give a complete relocation cost.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Does the price include an issued visa or only a provision/quota?
  • Which medical, Emirates ID and establishment card fees remain payable?
  • Which workspace and activity are included, and what does renewal cost?

KEZAD Group — Startup Solutions ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Sharjah

Sharjah · Free zone

Shams — Media

5,760 AED Licence from

From 5,760 AED. Current official portal price; the former 5,750 AED price remains indexed. Confirm duration in the quote.

Media licence for creative and digital activities; the exact activity needs approval.

  • 100% foreign ownership
  • LLC licence
  • Up to 5 media activities
  • Flexi-desk and lease
Visa
No issued visa is confirmed at the starting price. The advertised capacity of 50 allocations does not mean 50 included visas. Ask about quota and issuance separately.
Renewal
Exact duration and renewal price not given on the starting-price page.
Taxes
VAT not stated on this page: ask for the tax-inclusive total and extra fees.
Watch out
Offers and activities vary by campaign. This is a starting price, not a complete residency budget. The page requires an exact quote for estimates; medical tests are paid at the centre.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Is the price tax-inclusive, for 1 year and without a visa?
  • What immigration, Emirates ID and status-change fees are added?
  • Are my activities eligible for the Media Package?

Shams Free Zone — official portal ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Sharjah · Free zone

SPC Free Zone — E-commerce / Publishing

5,750 AED Licence from

Licence from 5,750 AED / year for publishing and e-commerce. Standard from 6,875 AED / year.

Free-zone company licence; residency and additional options excluded.

  • Up to 5 combined activities
  • 100% foreign ownership
  • MOA
  • Coworking lease
Visa
0 visas included with the licence alone. Visa, quota, eChannel, establishment card and medical charged separately.
Renewal
Licence only: 5,750 AED / year, or from 6,875 AED for Standard. Visa and immigration renew separately.
Taxes
VAT not stated in the guide: request a tax-inclusive price.
Watch out
The 5,750 AED price is restricted to publishing/e-commerce. A free-zone licence does not automatically authorise local retail: check distributor or dual-licence requirements.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Does my activity qualify for the entry price?
  • What VAT, name reservation and other fees are added?
  • What is the total for full residency and renewal?

SPC Free Zone — official guide, updated 1 October 2026 ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Sharjah · Free zone

SPC Free Zone — Licence + investor visa

14,290 AED Published package

14,290 AED in the current offer content. The title/search result still shows 14,990 AED: confirm the written amount before payment.

Free-zone company package and one investor visa. Annual licence and usually a 2-year investor visa according to the official guide; confirm contractual duration.

  • Licence with flexi-desk
  • 1 quota and investor visa
  • eChannel and immigration card
  • Medical, biometrics, status change
Visa
One quota AND one investor visa explicitly included. The list does not explicitly name payment for the Emirates ID card or health insurance: confirm these.
Renewal
Package renewal price unpublished. Standard licence from 6,875 AED / year in the guide; immigration and visa are added when due.
Taxes
VAT not stated in the offer; confirm the tax-inclusive amount.
Watch out
Check activities, duration and exclusions in the quote. Advertised commercial timeline of 5 days is subject to approvals. No visa or bank account can be guaranteed.
Questions to ask before signing
  • What licence and visa durations apply at this price?
  • Are Emirates ID, VAT and insurance included?
  • What is the renewal price?

SPC Free Zone — official investor visa offer ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Ajman

Ajman · Free zone

Ajman Media City · Business Club

4,999 AED Published package

4,999 AED per year · company without a visa

Licence and coworking

  • Licence and incorporation documents
  • Up to 10 activities
  • Up to 10 shareholders
  • Coworking lease
  • Upgradeable package
Visa
0 visas: the official homepage confirms a package without residency.
Renewal
4,999 AED / year advertised: licence, coworking and charges.
Taxes
VAT inclusion or addition is not stated in the offer.
Watch out
This price does not cover relocation with a visa. The activity must match the selected licence. No promotional end date published.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Does the final quote include VAT and activity-specific approvals?
  • What is the extra cost to upgrade to a residency package?

Ajman Media City · Free Zones Authority of Ajman ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Ajman · Free zone

Ajman Media City · Visionary

12,999 AED Published package

12,999 AED in year one · company and 1 residency visa

Licence, residency and coworking

  • Licence and incorporation
  • Coworking
  • Up to 10 activities and 10 shareholders
  • Establishment card, investor approval and e-channel
  • Medical, Emirates ID and status change
Visa
1 UAE residency visa included, beyond a quota alone. Duration not published in the offer.
Renewal
8,999 AED / year advertised for licence, coworking, charges, establishment card and e-channel. Visa renewal is not listed.
Taxes
Whether VAT is included or added is not specified.
Watch out
Health insurance not mentioned. Confirm visa renewal and activity-specific fees. No promotional end date published.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Is the amount tax-inclusive, and is insurance still extra?
  • What visa duration and expiry-time renewal cost apply?

Ajman Media City · Free Zones Authority of Ajman ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Ajman · Free zone

Ajman Free Zone · personalised quote

Personalised quote

Quote required · no comparable fixed-price package was published in the calculator we reviewed

Licence, office and visas based on configuration

  • Activity selection
  • Number of shareholders and visas
  • Configurable office needs
Visa
Depends on the quote. The calculator asks for the number of visas required.
Renewal
Request it in the quote.
Taxes
Request it in the quote.
Watch out
The calculator sends an estimate after contact details are entered. No form was submitted. Do not treat old third-party prices as current authority prices.
Questions to ask before signing
  • What is the year-one total for licence, residency, office and VAT?
  • What is the year-two total and the cost when the visa is renewed?

Ajman Free Zone · Free Zones Authority of Ajman ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Ras Al Khaimah

Ras Al Khaimah · Free zone

RAKEZ · All-inclusive

14,000 AED Published package

14,000 AED per year · company package and 1 residency visa

Licence, residency and coworking

  • Professional licence subject to activity
  • Unlimited access to Compass Coworking Centre
  • Up to 10 activities and 50 shareholders
  • Immigration/e-channel, medical and Emirates ID advertised within the package
Visa
1 UAE residency visa included, beyond a quota alone. Visa duration not stated. Up to 3 additional visas: 4,000 AED each.
Renewal
Same annual price of 14,000 AED advertised as guaranteed; obtain written details of visa renewal.
Taxes
VAT inclusion or addition is not stated on the price page.
Watch out
Health insurance not mentioned. Premium option at 2,500 AED. The activity and necessary approvals must be validated.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Does the quote confirm VAT, status change and insurance?
  • What visa duration and renewal fees apply?

RAKEZ · Government of Ras Al Khaimah ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Ras Al Khaimah · Free zone

RAKEZ · Biz Starter

6,000 AED Published package

6,000 AED advertised · confirm period and renewal price

Company formation and coworking · residency not advertised as included

  • Up to 10 activities
  • Up to 50 shareholders
  • Coworking centre membership
  • Banking eligibility, subject to conditions
Visa
No residency visa advertised in this package. Compare it separately from packages that include residency.
Renewal
Not published on this offer page.
Taxes
Whether VAT is included or added is not specified.
Watch out
For entrepreneurs already based in the UAE; confirm conditions and newcomer eligibility. Additional services are subject to conditions.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Can I use this offer without an existing UAE residency?
  • Does the price cover 12 months, any immigration fees and renewal?

RAKEZ · Government of Ras Al Khaimah ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Umm Al Quwain

Umm Al Quwain · Free zone

UAQ Free Trade Zone · START

12,500 AED Published package

Company + 1 residency package, advertised as all-inclusive. Annual renewal cycle; confirm licence and visa duration in the quote.

Free-zone licence, coworking and lease; up to 10 activities and 5 partners subject to approval.

  • 1 investor visa
  • Emirates ID and medical test
  • Basic medical insurance
  • Banking assistance
Visa
1 visa actually included, beyond allocation alone; immigration approval remains separate. Family and additional visas excluded.
Renewal
Same package advertised at 12,500 AED per year, excluding changes and extra services.
Taxes
VAT not stated on the price page; ask for a total including taxes.
Watch out
The dedicated page and 8 October article show 12,500 AED; a 6 October article mentions 13,500 AED. Confirm in writing. UAE presence is required for residency procedures.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Confirm the tax-inclusive total and licence/visa durations
  • Check my activity eligibility and insurance exclusions
  • Are status change, establishment card and e-channel covered in my case?

UAQ Free Trade Zone — official START page ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Umm Al Quwain · Free zone

UAQ Free Trade Zone · LYTE

5,500 AED Licence from

Licence without residency from 5,500 AED; confirm contractual duration.

Free-zone company formation without a visa.

  • Licence and coworking
  • Banking assistance
  • Remote formation
  • Up to 50 partners subject to conditions
Visa
No visa included. Request another package if you need residency for relocation.
Renewal
Published renewal price of 5,500 AED; confirm taxes and changes.
Taxes
VAT not specified.
Watch out
Suitable if residency is already covered or the company will be managed from abroad; activity approval and bank decisions remain separate.
Questions to ask before signing
  • What is the exact duration and tax-inclusive invoice?
  • What is the upgrade cost for a residency package?

UAQ Free Trade Zone — official LYTE guide ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Fujairah

Fujairah · Free zone

Creative City Fujairah · Media

3,999 AED Published package

Published promotional price; confirm package duration. The general page advertises one-year licences.

Company licence in a media/creative free zone.

  • 24/7 flexi-desk
  • 10 advertised activities
  • Up to 10 advertised partners
Visa
No visa advertised in the offer; the general Media page states zero allocations.
Renewal
Quote required.
Taxes
VAT not specified.
Watch out
Media inclusions differ between official pages. Ask for the applicable contractual version; residency must be funded separately.
Questions to ask before signing
  • What validity, renewal and tax-inclusive total apply?
  • Which activities and how many partners are actually authorised?

Creative City Free Zone Authority — official offers ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Fujairah · Free zone

Creative City Fujairah · Elite

9,999 AED Published package

Published package at 9,999 AED; confirm duration.

Licence and residency assistance in a free zone.

  • 24/7 flexi-desk
  • Establishment card
  • e-channel registration
  • 10 activities and up to 10 partners advertised
Visa
1 visa advertised among inclusions; Emirates ID, medical, insurance and status-change costs are not itemised.
Renewal
Quote required.
Taxes
VAT not specified.
Watch out
Confirm the full residency cost and licence/visa duration; admission depends on the authorities.
Questions to ask before signing
  • Does the advertised visa cover processing, medical, ID, insurance and status change?
  • What validity and tax-inclusive renewal apply?

Creative City Free Zone Authority — official offers ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Fujairah · Free zone

Creative City Fujairah · Elite+

18,500 AED Published package

Published package at 18,500 AED; confirm duration.

Licence and team residency package.

  • 24/7 flexi-desk
  • Establishment card and e-channel
Visa
2 visas advertised; up to 15 visas means capacity, not 15 free visas. Confirm the full per-person cost.
Renewal
Quote required.
Taxes
VAT not specified.
Watch out
Employee/partner visas are different from family visas. Medical, ID, insurance and status need an itemised breakdown.
Questions to ask before signing
  • What quota will actually be granted?
  • What fees apply per additional visa and at renewal?

Creative City Free Zone Authority — official offers ↗ Checked on 2026-10-12

Price your own move.

Company, visa, health, housing and school: a two-year estimate based on your profile, in 5 minutes.

Estimate my budget